New Proposed Ward Boundaries


The final proposal for how new ward boundaries in Basingstoke and Deane could look has been released.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has now submitted the final draft for the new boundaries to the House of Commons

Under the new proposals, Basingstoke and Deane will be represented by 54 borough councillors in the future: six fewer than the current arrangement.   This means that each new ward across the borough will have 3 councillors.

It is expected that these changes will come into force at the May 2020 elections.

The changes will impact all but two of the current ward boundaries in the borough.

Specific impact to our parishes are that Sherborne St John, Monk Sherborne, Charter Alley and Ramsdell join with Rooksdown and a very small part of Popley to create the new Sherborne St John and Rooksdown Ward.

The Commission agreed to include the area around Priestley Road in the Sherborne St John and Rooksdown ward rather than Popley as previously proposed. This is believed to represent a better reflection of community ties.

Also locally, Wootton St Lawrence village joins with Manydown and Winklebury to create the new Winklebury and Manydown Ward.

Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Boundary Commission’s website at